JavaScript Menu Powered by Milonic


Matt Jones pulls off Hollywood finish in playoff - April 06, 2014 ...more

Kuchar forges 4-shot lead after three rounds - April 05, 2014 ...more

Garcia leads Kuchar by one after two rounds - April 04, 2014 ...more
SHO and Tell: The Latest on The Shell Houston Open
SHO and Tell: The Latest on The Shell Houston Open
Untitled Document
Shell Oil Company President Marvin Odum, right, and Houston Golf Association President Steve Timms, left, flank youngsters who helped announce a Community Impact number of $2,236,977 from the proceeds of the 2014 Shell Houston Open.
  04/02  185  
  04/03  558  
  04/04  399  
  04/05  206  
  04/06  264  
Custom Report
Untitled Document
Facebook Twitter Youtube
Countdown to SHO
Click Image to View Archive
Gibby Gilbert
Gibby Gilbert (1970)
Champions Golf Club
No. 17 Charl Schwartzel commits to SHO

HUMBLE (March 26, 2014) – Charl Schwartzel, No. 17 in the World Golf Rankings and the 2011 Masters champion, is a new commitment for next week's Shell Houston Open, announced Tournament Director Steve Timms.

Players have until this Friday to commit to play in the Shell Houston Open, which will be played March 31-April 6 at the Golf Club of Houston’s Tournament Course.

Committed players may also withdraw without penalty by that date. Houston’s TOUR stop is the final opportunity for players not-otherwise-eligible to claim an invitation to The Masters tournament in Augusta, GA.

Schwartzel, the winner of nine European Tour events, boosts the count of major champion winners in the field to 15. Those players have combined for a total of 26 major championships.

The other major championship winners on the commitment list for next week are: Phil Mickelson (2013 British Open, 2010,2006 & 2004 Masters, 2005 PGA Championship), Ernie Els (1994 & 1997 U.S. Open, 2002 & 2012 British Open), Angel Cabrera (2007 U.S. Open, 2009 Masters), McIlroy (2012 PGA Championship, 2011 U.S. Open), Keegan Bradley (2011 PGA Championship), Martin Kaymer (2010 PGA Championship), Stewart Cink (2009 British Open), Darren Clarke of Northern Ireland (2011 British Open), Padraig Harrington of Ireland (2007, 2008 British Open & 2008 PGA Championship), South African star Louis Oosthuizen (2010 British Open), Davis Love III (1997 PGA Championship), Lucas Glover (2009 U.S. Open), Webb Simpson (2012 U.S. Open) and Fred Couples (1992 Masters).

The SHO now has 6 of the Top 11 in the World Golf Rankings. They include: Mickelson, the 2011 SHO winner, Henrik Stenson of Sweden (No. 3), Rory McIlroy of Ireland (No. 7), Sergio Garcia of Spain (No. 8), Dustin Johnson (No. 9) and Matt Kuchar (No. 11).

For tickets information and player field updates visit

List to Archive