JavaScript Menu Powered by Milonic


J.B. Holmes playoff victor at 2015 SHO - April 05, 2015 ...more

Texas' Jordan Spieth right where he expects to be once again - April 04, 2015 ...more

Andrew Putnam overtakes Mickelson late to claim 36-hole lead - April 03, 2015 ...more
SHO and Tell: The Latest on The Shell Houston Open
SHO and Tell: The Latest on The Shell Houston Open
Untitled Document
  04/01  230  
  04/02  516  
  04/04  554  
  04/04  267  
  04/05  276  
Custom Report
Untitled Document
Facebook Twitter Youtube
Countdown to SHO
Click Image to View Archive
Frank Beard
Frank Beard (1967)
Champions Golf Club
- January 22, 2003

  • International players have won the last four PGA TOUR events dating back to the final week of last season when both Vijay Singh and Luke Donald were victorious. The last time international players won four consecutive weeks on the PGA TOUR was in 1978 when Seve Ballesteros won in Greensboro, followed by three consecutive wins by Gary Player at The Masters, the old Tournament of Champions and in Houston.

  • The two wins by Ernie Els ups the all-time victory list on the PGA TOUR by former Nationwide Tour players to 125.

  • You better attack the 17th hole at the TPC of Scottsdale if you expect to win this week at the Phoenix Open. The last 10 winners of the tournament have made 30 birdies in 40 tries on the short par-4. In fact, in the 16 years the event has been played at the course, the winners have bogeyed the hole exactly once.

  • The 2003 PGA TOUR membership role includes 64 international players from 19 different countries.

  • Which college has produced the most active current TOUR members? Oklahoma State with eight. OSU is followed by Texas and UCLA (7 each) and Florida and Arizona State (6 each).

  • Think the TOUR isn't getting younger? Sixteen members are 25 years of age or less this year.

  • Players are getting bigger, too. This year's media guide shows that 47 players are 6-2 or bigger. It also shows that 25 are 210 pounds or more.

  • Going back to the 1940's, Ernie Els joins a very select group of people who have won the first two tournaments of the year:

    1946 Byron Nelson
    1953 Lloyd Mangrum
    1974 Johnny Miller (first three)
    1975 Johnny Miller
    1983 Gil Morgan
    1989 Steve Jones
    2003 Ernie Els

Back to Tour Talk Archive